Breakfast with the German Ambassador

Three and a half years ago, when I started at Temple Sinai, I was invited to become involved with the American Jewish Committee and their young adult chapter, Access.  I attended one event and fount it to be lovely; it was a Sukkot program and I awkwardly met thirty or so people before heading home early, a swirl of names in my head.

Over the next three months I had no contact, officially, with the AJC, but did regularly bump into the people I met that evening.  It was inspiring to know that the Access group members were involved- not just with AJC work but all around the Jewish community.  And they were easy to spot: remember, I came from Cincinnati, where the median age of participants in the Jewish community was 65.  So being in Atlanta and seeing people of all ages participating (and I am not slamming 65 year olds; I’m just saying…) was delightfully refreshing.

In March, 2007, I received a call that someone at the AJC felt that I would be a good Steering Committee member.  This call was not expected but very much appreciated; in my time as a rabbi I had not been invited into a communal leadership position.  I accepted, with the caveat that my participation may be limited my first year but that I would step up each subsequent year of my involvement.

I am now in my second term as a Steering Committee member and love my involvement with the AJC.  I have been able to sit on Film Festival selection committees, attended and spoken at lunch programs honoring giants in the Jewish and secular world of Atlanta, and have been able to have private meals with visiting dignitaries.  I have participated in interfaith programming unique to the mission of the AJC and have met other Jewish leaders and soon-to-be leaders.  My involvement has led to many weddings and increased membership at Temple Sinai and I can honestly say that I am a more fulfilled rabbi due to my involvement with the AJC.

This morning I was one of 20 people sitting around a table having a private audience with the German Ambassador to the United States.  In Atlanta for meetings and a few speaking engagements, he held a conversation with leaders of the AJC, taking our questions and offering candid answers on the role that Germany plays on the international stage and our role as lay leaders in the political process.  It was not always an easy conversation, but it was meaningful and inspiring.

I am proud of my involvement with the AJC, though I am elated at the work of this incredible organization.  I highly encourage you to check out their website (ajc.org) and get involved with one of their initiatives.   You will not be sorry.

Published in: on January 29, 2010 at 2:43 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rabbibrad.wordpress.com/2010/01/29/breakfast-with-the-german-ambassador/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment